Quick Contact

Dr. Allan Meyers
Professor of Anthropology
Discipline Coordinator of Anthropology

Eckerd College
4200 54th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33711

Send a message

Local: 727-864-8230
Toll-free: 800-456-9009



Lambda Alpha Honor Society

Lambda Alpha Honor Society 2013Lambda Alpha is the national honors organization for anthropology. Eckerd's chapter of Lambda Alpha is Zeta of Florida. The honor society encourages scholarship and research in anthropology by recognizing and superior achievement in the discipline among students and faculty. Lambda Alpha strives to promote interest in anthropology through a diversity of activities: sponsorship of campus speakers, field excursions, and volunteerism with professional/avocational organizations such as the Florida Gulf Coast Archaeological Society.

Benefits of Lambda Alpha Membership:

  • Lambda Alpha includes lifetime memberships, and students may list their affiliation on resumes among other academic honors.
  • Members of Lambda Alpha may submit their work for publication in the national journal.
  • The National Executive Office provides sizable scholarships each year to two outstanding undergraduate members nationally.
  • Members are eligible to purchase the Lambda Alpha Honors satin stole and/or pin to wear at commencement.
Membership Requirements:
  • Must be a junior or senior
  • Must have completed a minimum of six Anthropology course credits, or the equivalent
  • Must have a minimum of 3.0 (B) cumulative overall GPA, and a GPA of at least 3.25 in anthropology coursework
Joining Lambda Alpha:
  • Lifetime membership dues are $25.00 (includes certificate and membership card).
  • The society's faculty sponsor solicits new members for Lambda Alpha once a year, in the early spring. Anthropology majors meeting the requirements listed above will be contacted by the discipline.

Lambda Alpha National Website

Zeta of Florida

2015 Inductees

Cecily Bacon '15
Julia Bradson '15
Julia Hause '15
Alexandra McAlvany '15
Adrian Pendergast '15
Dustin Smith '15
Alexandra Bailey '16
Jennifer Lincoln '16
Laura Winters '16

2014 Inductees

Shelby Busque '14
Kelly Calder '14
Lorel Schmitzberger '14
Michelle Baldwin '15
Ellie Finkenaur '15
Michaela Paddock '15
Meaghan Rondeau '15
Dr. Jessie Fly, Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Ms. Ashley Humphries, CPT Assistant Professor of Anthropology

2013 Charter Members

Jennifer Duncan '13
Orion Paper '13
Elise Barnes '14
Yuki Nakayama-Larrabee '14
Karyn Paradis '14
Teckla Persons '14
Miranda Watrous '14
Dr. Scott Burnett, Associate Professor of Anthropology
Ms. Lorena Mihok, Visiting Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Dr. Allan Meyers, Professor of Anthropology (Faculty Sponsor)

The Eckerd Experience

Ellie Finkenaur '15, Anthropology and Spanish double major with a minor in Latin American Studies, was the 2015 recipient of the Ken Keeton Award for Cross-Cultural Engagement, the highest honor of the Comparative Cultures Collegium. Her senior thesis explores life history narratives of Maya-speaking women in Yucatan, Mexico. A member of Lambda Alpha and Phi Beta Kappa honor societies, Ellie is currently working for the Ministry of Education in Spain as a Language and Culture Assistant in the province of Galicia.

Life After Eckerd

Eckerd anthropology graduates have an outstanding record of achievement in graduate school, civil service, and multiple career fields. In the last decade, our alumni have entered graduate and professional programs across the country in a variety of disciplines. Learn more.