Academics

Eckerd College campus photograph

 

Academic Calendars

If you are a working adult (age 23 and older), seeking our Program for Experienced Learners adult degree, please click here.

2013-14 Academic Calendar

Jump to: Autumn Term '13 | Fall Semester '13 | Winter Term '14 | Spring Semester '14 | Summer Term '14
2013 - 2014 Academic Calendar (pdf)

Autumn Term 2013

Fri., Aug. 9, 2013
Freshmen arrive. Students check-in before 2:00 p.m. Ceremony of Lights.

Sat., Aug. 10, 2013
Autumn Term begins.

Wed., Aug. 21, 2013
Fall Semester 2013 Freshmen registration begins.

Thurs., Aug. 29
Autumn Term ends.

Fri., Aug. 30, 2013
Autumn Term make-up day, if needed.

Fall Semester 2013

Wed., Aug. 28, 2013
Orientation begins for transfer students who did not participate in Autumn Term. Move into residence hall. Orientation runs Wed, Aug. 28 thru Sat., Aug. 31.

Fri., Aug. 30, 2013
Residence halls open for returning students at 9:00 a.m.

Sat., Aug. 31, 2013
Last day of Orientation for transfers who did not participate in Autumn Term.

Mon., Sept. 2, 2013
Fall Semester begins.

Tues. Sept. 10, 2013
End of drop/add period for Fall Semester courses.

Mon.-Tues., Oct. 28-29, 2013
Fall recess (if not needed to make up class days).

Sat., Nov. 2, 2013
Winter Term/Spring Semester 2014 registration begins at 10:00 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 8, 2013
Last day to withdraw from Fall Semester courses with W grade or change from audit to credit.

Thurs.-Fri., Nov 28-29, 2013
Thanksgiving holiday, no classes.

Fri., Dec 6, 2013
Last day of classes.

Mon.-Thurs. Dec 9-12, 2013
Examination period.  Students must vacate residence halls 24 hours after their last exam.

Fri., Dec 13 , 2013
Fall Semester ends. Residence halls close at noon for all students.

Winter Term 2014

Fri., Jan. 3, 2014
Residence halls open at 9:00 a.m.  New student registration/orientation for Winter Term.

Mon., Jan. 6, 2014
Winter Term begins.

Wed., Jan. 8, 2014
Last day to enter Winter Term; end of drop/add period; last day for change of project.

Mon., Jan. 13, 2014
Last day to withdraw from Winter Term with W grade.

Mon., Jan 20, 2014
Martin Luther King day, no classes.

Thurs.-Fri., Jan. 23-24, 2014
First comprehensive examination period.

Fri., Jan. 24, 2014
Winter Term ends.

Spring Semester 2014

Mon., Jan. 27, 2014
Residence halls open at 9:00 a.m.

Tues., Jan. 28 , 2014
Spring Semester begins.

Tues., Feb. 4, 2014
End of drop/add period for Spring Semester courses.

Fri-Sun., Feb. 21-23, 2014
Family Weekend

Sat. March 22 , 2014
Spring recess begins.

Mon., March 31, 2014
Classes resume.

Sat., April 5, 2014
Fall Semester 2014 registration begins at 10:00 p.m.

Fri., April 11, 2014
Last day to withdraw from Spring Semester courses with W grade, or change from audit to credit.

Fri., April 18, 2014
Good Friday, no classes

Thurs.-Fri., Apr. 24-25, 2014
Second comprehensive examination period.

Fri., May 9, 2014
Last day of classes.

Mon.-Thurs., May 12-15, 2014
Examination period. Non-graduates must vacate residence halls 24-hours after their last exam.

Fri., May 16, 2014
Spring Semester ends. Residence halls close at noon for all non-graduates.

Sat., May 17, 2014
Baccalaureate. 

Sun., May 18, 2014
Commencement.

Mon., May 19, 2014
Residence halls close at noon for graduates.

Mon., May 26, 2014
Memorial Day – holiday.

Summer Term 2014

Tues., May 27, 2014
Residence halls open for Summer Session A.

May 27-July 18 , 2014
Summer Term

May 27-June 20, 2014
Session A.

June 23-July 18, 2014
Session B.

Sat., July 19, 2014
Residence halls close at noon.

Back to Top

2014-15 Academic Calendar

Jump to: Autumn Term '14 | Fall Semester '14 | Winter Term '15 | Spring Semester '15 | Summer Term '15
2014 - 2015 Academic Calendar (pdf)

Autumn Term 2014

Fri., Aug. 8, 2014
Freshmen arrive. Students check-in before 2:00 p.m. Ceremony of Lights.

Sat., Aug. 9, 2014
Autumn Term begins.

Wed., Aug. 20, 2014
Fall Semester 2014 Freshmen registration begins.

Thurs., Aug. 28 2014
Autumn Term ends.

Fri., Aug. 29, 2014
Autumn Term make-up day, if needed.

Fall Semester 2014

Wed., Aug. 27, 2014
Orientation begins for transfer students who did not participate in Autumn Term. Move into residence hall. Orientation runs Wed, Aug. 27 thru Sat., Aug. 30.

Fri., Aug. 29, 2014
Residence halls open for returning students at 9:00 a.m.

Sat., Aug. 30, 2014
Last day of Orientation for transfers who did not participate in Autumn Term.

Mon., Sept. 1, 2014
Fall Semester begins.

Tues. Sept. 09, 2014
End of drop/add period for Fall Semester courses.

Mon.-Tues., Oct. 27-28, 2014
Fall recess (if not needed to make up class days).

Sat., Nov. 1, 2014
Winter Term/Spring Semester 2014 registration begins at 10:00 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 7, 2014
Last day to withdraw from Fall Semester courses with W grade or change from audit to credit.

Thurs.-Fri., Nov 27-28, 2014
Thanksgiving holiday, no classes.

Fri., Dec 5, 2014
Last day of classes.

Mon.-Thurs. Dec 8-11, 2014
Examination period.  Students must vacate residence halls 24 hours after their last exam.

Fri., Dec 12 , 2014
Fall Semester ends. Residence halls close at noon for all students.

Winter Term 2015

Fri., Jan. 2, 2015
Residence halls open at 9:00 a.m.  New student registration/orientation for Winter Term.

Mon., Jan. 5, 2015
Winter Term begins.

Wed., Jan. 7, 2015
Last day to enter Winter Term; end of drop/add period; last day for change of project.

Mon., Jan. 12, 2015
Last day to withdraw from Winter Term with W grade.

Mon., Jan 19, 2015
Martin Luther King day, no classes.

Thurs.-Fri., Jan. 22-23, 2015
First comprehensive examination period.

Fri., Jan. 23, 2015
Winter Term ends.

Spring Semester 2015

Mon., Jan. 26, 2015
Residence halls open at 9:00 a.m.

Tues., Jan. 27 , 2015
Spring Semester begins.

Tues., Feb. 3, 2015
End of drop/add period for Spring Semester courses.

Fri-Sun., Feb. 20-22, 2015
Family Weekend

Sat. March 14 , 2015
Spring recess begins.

Mon., March 23, 2015
Classes resume.

Fri., April 3, 2015
Good Friday, no classes

Sat., April 4, 2015
Fall Semester 2015 registration begins at 10:00 p.m.

Fri., April 10, 2015
Last day to withdraw from Spring Semester courses with W grade, or change from audit to credit.

Thurs.-Fri., Apr. 23-24, 2015
Second comprehensive examination period.

Fri., May 08, 2014
Last day of classes.

Mon.-Thurs., May 11-14, 2015
Examination period. Non-graduates must vacate residence halls 24-hours after their last exam.

Fri., May 15, 2015
Spring Semester ends. Residence halls close at noon for all non-graduates.

Sat., May 16, 2015
Baccalaureate. 

Sun., May 17, 2015
Commencement.

Mon., May 18, 2015
Residence halls close at noon for graduates.

Mon., May 25, 2015
Memorial Day – holiday.

Summer Term 2015

Tues., May 26, 2015
Residence halls open for Summer Session A.

May 26-July 17 , 2015
Summer Term

May 26-June 19, 2015
Session A.

June 22-July 17, 2015
Session B.

Sat., July 18, 2015
Residence halls close at noon.

Back to Top

Phi Beta Kappa

Eckerd College member of Phi Beta Kappa

Eckerd College is one of only 270 colleges nationwide recognized by Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and best known society for recognition of academic excellence and scholarly achievement. Learn more.

Colleges That Change Lives

Colleges That Change Lives

Eckerd College is one of only 40 colleges featured in Loren Pope's Colleges That Change Lives. Learn more.