Academics

Eckerd College campus photograph

 

Academic Calendars

If you are a working adult (age 23 and older), seeking our Program for Experienced Learners adult degree, please click here.

2014-15 Academic Calendar

Jump to: Autumn Term '14 | Fall Semester '14 | Winter Term '15 | Spring Semester '15 | Summer Term '15
2014 - 2015 Academic Calendar (pdf)

Autumn Term 2014

Fri., Aug. 8, 2014
Freshmen arrive. Students check-in before 2:00 p.m. Ceremony of Lights.

Sat., Aug. 9, 2014
Autumn Term begins.

Wed., Aug. 20, 2014
Fall Semester 2014 Freshmen registration begins.

Thurs., Aug. 28 2014
Autumn Term ends.

Fri., Aug. 29, 2014
Autumn Term make-up day, if needed.

Fall Semester 2014

Wed., Aug. 27, 2014
Orientation begins for transfer students who did not participate in Autumn Term. Move into residence hall. Orientation runs Wed, Aug. 27 thru Sat., Aug. 30.

Fri., Aug. 29, 2014
Residence halls open for returning students at 9:00 a.m.

Sat., Aug. 30, 2014
Last day of Orientation for transfers who did not participate in Autumn Term.

Mon., Sept. 1, 2014
Fall Semester begins.

Tues. Sept. 09, 2014
End of drop/add period for Fall Semester courses.

Mon.-Tues., Oct. 27-28, 2014
Fall recess (if not needed to make up class days).

Sat., Nov. 1, 2014
Winter Term/Spring Semester 2014 registration begins at 10:00 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 7, 2014
Last day to withdraw from Fall Semester courses with W grade or change from audit to credit.

Thurs.-Fri., Nov 27-28, 2014
Thanksgiving holiday, no classes.

Fri., Dec 5, 2014
Last day of classes.

Mon.-Thurs. Dec 8-11, 2014
Examination period.  Students must vacate residence halls 24 hours after their last exam.

Fri., Dec 12 , 2014
Fall Semester ends. Residence halls close at noon for all students.

Winter Term 2015

Fri., Jan. 2, 2015
Residence halls open at 9:00 a.m.  New student registration/orientation for Winter Term.

Mon., Jan. 5, 2015
Winter Term begins.

Wed., Jan. 7, 2015
Last day to enter Winter Term; end of drop/add period; last day for change of project.

Mon., Jan. 12, 2015
Last day to withdraw from Winter Term with W grade.

Mon., Jan 19, 2015
Martin Luther King day, no classes.

Thurs.-Fri., Jan. 22-23, 2015
First comprehensive examination period.

Fri., Jan. 23, 2015
Winter Term ends.

Spring Semester 2015

Mon., Jan. 26, 2015
Residence halls open at 9:00 a.m.

Tues., Jan. 27 , 2015
Spring Semester begins.

Tues., Feb. 3, 2015
End of drop/add period for Spring Semester courses.

Fri-Sun., Feb. 20-22, 2015
Family Weekend

Sat. March 14 , 2015
Spring recess begins.

Mon., March 23, 2015
Classes resume.

Fri., April 3, 2015
Good Friday, no classes

Sat., April 4, 2015
Fall Semester 2015 registration begins at 10:00 p.m.

Fri., April 10, 2015
Last day to withdraw from Spring Semester courses with W grade, or change from audit to credit.

Thurs.-Fri., Apr. 23-24, 2015
Second comprehensive examination period.

Fri., May 08, 2014
Last day of classes.

Mon.-Thurs., May 11-14, 2015
Examination period. Non-graduates must vacate residence halls 24-hours after their last exam.

Fri., May 15, 2015
Spring Semester ends. Residence halls close at noon for all non-graduates.

Sat., May 16, 2015
Baccalaureate. 

Sun., May 17, 2015
Commencement.

Mon., May 18, 2015
Residence halls close at noon for graduates.

Mon., May 25, 2015
Memorial Day – holiday.

Summer Term 2015

Tues., May 26, 2015
Residence halls open for Summer Session A.

May 26-July 17 , 2015
Summer Term

May 26-June 19, 2015
Session A.

June 22-July 17, 2015
Session B.

Sat., July 18, 2015
Residence halls close at noon.

Back to Top

2015-16 Academic Calendar

Jump to: Autumn Term '15 | Fall Semester '15 | Winter Term '16 | Spring Semester '16 | Summer Term '16
2015 - 2016 Academic Calendar (pdf)

Autumn Term 2015

Fri., Aug. 7, 2015
Freshmen arrive. Students check-in before 2:00 p.m. Ceremony of Lights.

Sat., Aug. 8, 2015
Autumn Term begins.

Wed., Aug. 19, 2015
Fall Semester 2015 Freshmen registration begins.

Thurs., Aug. 27, 2015
Autumn Term ends.

Fri., Aug. 28, 2015
Autumn Term make-up day, if needed.

Fall Semester 2015

Wed., Aug. 26, 2015
Orientation begins for transfer students who did not participate in Autumn Term. Move into residence hall. Orientation runs Wed, Aug. 26 thru Sat., Aug. 29.

Fri., Aug. 28, 2015
Residence houses open for returning students at 9:00 a.m.

Sat., Aug. 29, 2015
Last day of Orientation for transfers who did not participate in Autumn Term.

Mon., Aug. 31, 2015
Fall Semester begins.

Tues. Sept. 8, 2015
End of drop/add period for Fall Semester courses.

Mon.-Tues., Oct. 12-13, 2015
Fall recess.

Sat., Nov. 7, 2015
Winter Term/Spring Semester 2016 registration begins at 10:00 p.m.

Fri., Nov. 6, 2015
Last day to withdraw from Fall Semester courses with W grade or change from audit to credit.

Wed.-Fri., Nov 25-27, 2015
Thanksgiving holiday, no classes.

Fri., Dec 4, 2015
Last day of classes.

Mon.-Thurs. Dec 7-10, 2015
Examination period.  Students must vacate residence halls 24 hours after their last exam.

Fri., Dec 11 , 2015
Fall Semester ends. Residence halls close at noon for all students.

Winter Term 2016

Mon., Jan. 4, 2016
Residence houses open at 9:00 a.m.  New student registration/orientation for Winter Term.

Tues., Jan. 5, 2016
Winter Term begins.

Thurs., Jan. 7, 2016
Last day to enter Winter Term; end of drop/add period; last day for change of project.

Tues., Jan. 12, 2016
Last day to withdraw from Winter Term with W grade.

Mon., Jan 18, 2016
Martin Luther King, Jr. day, no classes.

Thurs.-Fri., Jan. 28-29, 2016
First comprehensive examination period.

Fri., Jan. 29, 2016
Winter Term ends.

Spring Semester 2016

Mon., Feb. 1, 2016
Residence halls open at 9:00 a.m.

Tues., Feb. 2, 2016
Spring Semester begins.

Tues., Feb. 9, 2016
End of drop/add period for Spring Semester courses.

Fri-Sun., Feb. 19-21, 2016
Family Weekend

Fri., March 25, 2016
Good Friday, no classes

Sat. March 26, 2016
Spring recess begins.

Mon., April 4, 2016
Classes resume at 8:00 a.m.

Sat., April 9, 2016
Fall Semester 2016 registration begins at 10:00 p.m.

Fri., April 15, 2016
Last day to withdraw from Spring Semester courses with W grade, or change from audit to credit.

Thurs.-Fri., Apr. 21-22, 2016
Second comprehensive examination period.

Fri., May 13, 2016
Last day of classes.

Mon.-Fri., May 16-20, 2016
Examination period. Non-graduates must vacate residence halls 24-hours after their last exam.

Fri., May 20, 2016
Spring Semester ends. Residence halls close at noon for all non-graduates.

Sat., May 21, 2016
Baccalaureate. 

Sun., May 22, 2016
Commencement.

Mon., May 23, 2016
Residence halls close at noon for graduates.

Mon., May 30, 2016
Memorial Day – holiday.

Summer Term 2016

Tues., May 31, 2016
Residence halls open for Summer Session A.

June 1-July 22, 2016
Summer Term.

June 1-June 24, 2016
Session A.

June 27-July 22, 2016
Session B.

Sat., July 23, 2016
Residence halls close at noon.

Back to Top

Phi Beta Kappa

Eckerd College member of Phi Beta Kappa

Eckerd College is one of only 270 colleges nationwide recognized by Phi Beta Kappa, the nation's oldest and best known society for recognition of academic excellence and scholarly achievement. Learn more.

Colleges That Change Lives

Colleges That Change Lives

Eckerd College is one of only 40 colleges featured in Loren Pope's Colleges That Change Lives. Learn more.