Quick Contact

K.C. Wolfe
Asst. Professor of Creative Writing
Adviser to The Current

Eckerd College
4200 54th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33711

Send a message
local: (727) 864-7852
toll-free: (800) 456-9009

Monday - Friday
8:30am - 5:00pm



Career Opportunities

Support your major with a minor in Journalism

We know you’re already worried about what happens after graduation. In today's declining economic times, who isn't?

That's why Eckerd students who support their major with a minor in Journalism and write for their award-winning newspaper The Current benefit from a wealth of real-life experience that provides them with a competitive edge.

Our Journalism minor provides real-life skills that can lead to jobs in:

  • News media print and online outlets: Our minor prepares you with skills in sports writing, environmental writing, news reporting, investigative reporting, science reporting, business reporting, political reporting, photography, multimedia reporting, magazine and newspaper design
  • Book publishers
  • Magazine publishers
  • Journals: Science, Environmental, and Literary, to name a name a few
Federal and State government positions in Diplomacy and Public Affairs
  • Speech writer
  • Political campaign associate
  • State Department representative
  • Public Affairs specialist
Sales & Management
  • Clients manager
  • Sales consultant
  • Non-profit organization manager
Advertising & Marketing
  • Media buyer/representative
  • Marketing analyst/researcher
  • Advertising executive
Public Relations
  • Community relations director
  • Publications/newsletter editor
Legal and Law Enforcement
  • Attorney
  • Police officer
  • Social services officer

Student Journalists

Student Journalists

Read about how Eckerd students and alumni supported their major with a minor in Journalism. Visit the Students section for details.

Journalist of the Year

Each May, The Current's Journalist of the Year is recognized for the year's best work in writing, photography, design, and innovation.

2015 - Bryan Arnott
2014 - Teresa Young
2013 - Malena Carollo '13
2012 - Carver Elliott Lee '13
2011 - Max Martinez '12
2010 - Petra Stevenson '11