Quick Contact

Robert C. Wigton
Professor of Political Science
Political Science Discipline Coordinator

Eckerd College
4200 54th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33711

Send a message

toll-free: (800) 456-9009
local: (727) 864-8283

Political Science

Political Science

Anthony Brunello

Professor of Political Science

Anthony BrunelloBehavioral Sciences Collegium
PhD, University of Oregon

Phone: 727.864.8240
Email Professor Brunello
Office: Forrer, 106

Dr. Brunello earned his B.A. from the University of California Davis in 1975 and his M.S (1978) and Ph.D. from the University of Oregon in 1983. His research and teaching is in the area of Comparative Politics and Political Theory, including European Politics, Environmental Politics, cross-national and systems analysis of revolutionary and liberationist events; comparative judicial politics; authoritarian political systems; parties and elections; political ideologies; propaganda and communications; and religion and politics. Recently published research includes a study of comparative politics and religion and political propaganda. He has also published in the area of judicial politics in India and Germany, parliamentary elections, liberation theology, dictatorships, and political theory on Marx, Lenin and Gramsci. He has received the Grover Wrenn Award for Leadership and Service to General Education, the John M. Bevan Teaching Excellence and Campus Leadership Award and the John Satterfield Outstanding Mentor Award at Eckerd College. Professor Brunello has been the Faculty Athletic Representative (FAR) to the NCAA for Eckerd College for nearly 12 years, receiving the Dave Pariser Faculty Mentor Award for the Sunshine State Conference in 2014.

Political Science Majors

Majoring in political science helps prepare students for careers such as law, teaching, government and non-governmental organizations, international organizations, think-tanks, journalism, business and further work in graduate school.

Pi Sigma Alpha

The following nine Political Science students have been accepted into the Alpha Eta Alpha Chapter of the Political Science Honor Society, Pi Sigma Alpha:

Erica Diffee
Kathalene Farley
Samantha E. Fenwick
Ryan Jarrett
Ashley L. Silva
Alex J. Simpson
Elizabeth Tomaselli
Kevin A. Vine
Devon E. Williams