Dean's Council on Science

In 2009, Eckerd College formed the Dean's Council on Science, a group of alumni, parents and friends of the College who represent various scientific fields and areas of the country. The Council advocates and is building support for Eckerd College’s Science programs, particularly the construction of the Center for Molecular and Life Sciences, which is the centerpiece of Many Experiences, One Spirit: The Campaign for Eckerd College.

Dean's Council members will act as hosts at Eckerd-sponsored regional events to be held between September 2009 and May 2011 that promote the College's Natural Sciences programs. In addition, the Council hosts an annual Eckerd College Science Symposium on campus, the second of which was held to great success in November during Alumni Weekend 2010.

As of November 17, 2010, the following have accepted nominations to serve on the Dean's Council on Science:

  • Dr. Carlos F. Barbas III '85, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California
  • Dr. W. Guy Bradley '85, Tampa Bay Research Institute, St. Petersburg, Florida
  • Dr. Paul R. Cheney '69, The Cheney Clinic, Asheville, North Carolina
  • Dr. James R. Corte '92, Bristol-Myers Squibb, Pennington, New Jersey
  • Dr. Bill Curtis '71 (P '13), CAST Software Inc., Fort Worth, Texas
  • Dr. Jeffrey A. Dodge '84, Eli Lilly and Company, Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Mr. Davis Farmer (P '08), MSM Protein Technologies, Medford, Massachusetts
  • Dr. Harvey E. Jeffries '64, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  • Dr. Darius A. Keblinskas '93, Associated Radiologists of Joliet, Joliet, Illinois
  • Dr. Susan (Soltau) Kilham '65, Drexel University, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Dr. Eric Lehr '97, Swedish Heart and Vascular Institute, Seattle, Washington
  • Dr. Bruce D. Lindsay '73, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, Cleveland, Ohio
  • Dr. Karin Musier-Forsyth '84, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio
  • Dr. Darryl B. Neill '67, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia
  • Mr. Michael E. Pique '73, The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, California
  • Dr. Catherine (Jones) Price '69, RTI International, Health Sciences Unit, Research Triangle Park, North Carolina
  • Dr. Michael Quigley '03, MedImmune, LLC, Gaithersburg, Maryland
  • Dr. Susan A. Slaugenhaupt '85, Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts
  • Mr. John A. Sweeny '65, Retired, St. Petersburg, Florida
  • Dr. Stephen A. Updegraff '84, Updegraff Vision, St. Petersburg, Florida
  • Dr. Marion Marshall White '74, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois

For more information on the Dean's Council on Science, please contact Justine Talmadge, Director of Constituent and Foundation Relations, at 727.864.7703 or