This is an archived page.   Click here to get information on this year's Commencement.
Eckerd College Commencement
Commencement Recap

Eckerd College Celebrates 43rd Commencement

Eckerd College's 43rd Commencement took place on Sunday, May 21, at 8:00 a.m. on the South Beach Field of the campus under a 'big top tent.' Karen Brown Dunlap, president of The Poynter Institute, is the commencement speaker. President Donald R. Eastman III announced the largest gift in Eckerd's history, $25 million, from Eckerd College chairman of the board of trustees Miles C. Collier, and his wife, Parker, of Naples, Fla.

The 353 graduates from the Residential Program and the 190 graduates from the Program for Experienced Learners (PEL) adult degree program - totaling 543 graduates in all - received their bachelor's degrees in arts and sciences hailed from 37 states ranging from Rhode Island to South Dakota and California to Texas and 19 countries including Guatemala, Kenya, Poland, Burma, Japan, Bulgaria, Australia, Malaysia and South Korea.

Karen Brown Dunlap, president of The Poynter Institute, a school for journalists, future journalists and teachers of journalists, received an honorary Doctor of Humane Letters degree. In 2002, Dr. Dunlap was the first African-American member to be appointed to the St. Petersburg Times Publishing Co. board of directors. She joined the Poynter writing faculty in 1989 and was appointed president in 2003. She is the co-author of The Effective Editor and The Editorial Eye, has twice served as a Pulitzer Prize jurist and publishes articles on award-winning writing. As an educator, she has led seminars throughout the world.

Dr. Dunlap is a graduate of Michigan State University and Tennessee State University, and received her Ph.D. in mass communications from the University of Tennessee. Click here for the complete text to Dr. Dunlap's honorary citation.

Marion Marshall White '74, senior physicist at Argonne National Laboratory, Advanced Photon Source, received an honorary Doctor of Science degree. Dr. White graduated from Eckerd College in 1974, and in 1981, was one of seven alumni to receive an Eckerd alumni achievement award for career excellence. She helped to design Low Energy Undulator Test Line and a Linac coherent Light Source free electron laser. In 1990, Dr. White began working for the Argonne National Laboratory and has been funding a summer research stipend for Eckerd students conducting physics projects. Click here for the complete text to Dr. White's honorary citation.

Award Recipient Notables
Click here for more information on award recipients

Sarah Lynn Sieloff, of Snohomish, Washington, recipient of the Philip J. Lee Honor Award - presented to the senior student whose scholarly achievements at Eckerd College have demonstrated both exceptional accomplishment and superior future promise. Through the Philip Lee Honor Award, the College honors the first Chairman of its Board of Trustees.

Sarah Lynn Sieloff of Snohomish, Washington, recipient of The Miller Award - presented to the senior student whose life activities best exemplify the ideal of unselfish and public-spirited service to the community, off campus as well as on campus. Through the Miller Award, the College honors two of its distinguished friends, Francis Pickens Miller, who was the first president of the Board of Visitors, and his wife, Helen Hill Miller.

Margaret Brandkamp Brown of Venice, Florida, recipient of The Irving G. Foster Award - presented to the graduate of the Program for Experienced Learners (PEL) who demonstrates excellence in overall academic achievement. N amed in honor of Irving G. Foster, Professor Emeritus of Physics, who played a major role in the design and inception of the Program for Experienced Learners.

Craig Scott Altemose of Morris Plains, New Jersey, recipient of The Ronald Wilson Award - presented to a senior student who has made a significant contribution to the total College community. Through the Ronald Wilson Award, the College honors the late Ronald Wilson, a valuable member of the Board of Trustees. Craig delivered the welcoming remarks on behalf of the Residential Program graduates.

Jaeson Tyrone Clayborn of Cleveland, Ohio, recipient of The James H. Robinson Award - presented to the senior student who has by leadership and example contributed significantly to the enrichment of the minority experience at Eckerd College and to a fuller appreciation of cross-cultural values throughout the whole Eckerd community. Through the Robinson Award the College recognizes the pioneering contributions of the Reverend James Robinson to the field of African-American relations.

Derrick Lawun Bullard of St. Petersburg, Florida, recipient of The David and Blanche Colgan Memorial Prize - presented to a graduate of the Program of Experienced Learners who has demonstrated extraordinary determination and perseverance in achieving a solid academic record and who exemplifies the spirit of life-long learning The award is provided through the generosity of Trustee Mary Miller (PEL '97) in memory of her parents, David and Blanche Colgan.

Edward T. Grasso of Sarasota, Florida, Professor of Decision Sciences, recipient of The Robert A. Staub Distinguished Teacher Award. This award recognizes the primary importance of teaching in the College, celebrates teaching excellence in an individual faculty member, and encourages the pursuit of teaching excellence by the faculty as a whole. The award is made possible by the generosity of a distinguished former member of the College's Board of Trustees, Robert A. Staub, whose concern for excellence in teaching reflects his understanding of and commitment to the central role of faculty members in a liberal arts education. Click here for the complete text to Edward T. Grasso's award citation.

Eckerd College
4200 54th Avenue South . St. Petersburg, Florida 33711
(800) 456-9009 or (727) 867-1166 | Email | Phone Directory

Copyright © 2004 Eckerd College. All rights reserved.