Quick Contact

Eckerd College
Office of Marketing and Communications
4200 54th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33711

toll-free: 800-456-9009
fax: 727-864-8423

Send a message

Visit us on Facebook Visit us on Flickr Visit us on LinkedIn Visit us on YouTube Follow us on Twitter

News Center

News & Events

News & Events

2007 Alumni Award Winners Announced

posted on 10/17/2007

Eckerd College is proud to announce the 2007 Eckerd College Alumni Award Recipients. Presented on Saturday, October 13, at Alumni Reunion 2007, these graduates have demonstrated a clear commitment to excellence in their careers and service to their communities.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Angela Guyadeen '03
Angela, a Political Science major and President of Eckerd College Organization of Students (ECOS), graduated from Eckerd with honors and was awarded the Ronald Wilson Honor Award for overall outstanding contribution to the Eckerd College community. After Eckerd, she went on to work as a Communications Specialist at Mote Marine Laboratory, where she began her career in media relations. She later obtained her master's degree from American University in Washington, D.C., to begin a career in political communications. She has worked as an intern for Florida Senator Bill Nelson, as the Assistant Director of Communications for the 2006 Christine Jennings for Congress campaign and as the Communications Director for the 2006 Zack Space for Congress campaign.

Triton Service Award
Andy Haines '86
Andy entered Eckerd in 1982 and soon became very involved in the campus community. As a student, he supported Eckerd by starting the Film Club, serving as the President of ECOS and representing the College as the President of the Florida Independent Student Association. After graduating in 1986, he eventually returned to Eckerd to work with Lena Wilfalk in the Career Services office. He then became involved with the Alumni Association by planning reunions, raising money and writing for the Fiddlergram. Now, Andy lives in Arlington, VA and works for Time Warner Cable, but still finds time to support the college. In 2004 he was elected to the Alumni Association Board of Directors and currently serves as the Vice President.

Suzanne Armacost Alumni Medal
Rebecca Blitch '02
Currently a graduate student in Transformative Leadership at the California Institute of Integral Studies, Rebecca, a Religious Studies major, graduated Suma Cum Laude in 2002 with high honors. While at Eckerd, she was a National Merit Scholar, a Ford Scholar, an Undergraduate Fellow for the Fund for Theological Education, and President of the Eckerd College Pride LGBT Council. In 2005 Rebecca was named Ms. Wheelchair Florida and in 2007 was awarded the Muscular Dystrophy Association's Robert Ross Personal Achievement Award for Florida. She currently serves as a Reach Coach and mentor for Anona Elementary School in Largo and works with her local MDA office in St. Petersburg and MDA clinics at Tampa's Childrenís Hospital, St. Joseph's and St. Petersburg Neurology Clinic.

William H. Kadel Alumni Medal
Michael Bluett '76, M.D., FACS
Michael currently serves as the Chief of the Department of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery at St. Vincent's Medical Center in Jacksonville, Florida. He joined Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgical Associates in 1988. After receiving a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology with highest honors at Eckerd, he graduated from the University of Florida Medical School. He served his residency in General Surgery at Vanderbilt University, where he became Chief Resident in General Surgery in 1985. He served a residency in thoracic surgery at the University of Michigan prior to returning to Florida and joining the Florida Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgeons.

McArthur Alumni Award
Marion Marshall White '74, Ph.D.
After graduating from Eckerd College with a Bachelor of Science degree, Marion Marshall White attended graduate school at Massachusetts Institute of Technology and earned her Ph.D. at DESY in Germany. After living in Europe for 14 years, she returned to the United States and began working for the Argonne National Laboratory in Illinois - one of the U.S. Department of Energy's largest research centers and the nationís first national laboratory, chartered in 1946. Among her many career accomplishments, she served as the Senior Scientific Advisor for construction of the linear accelerator system of the Spallation Neutron Source at Oak Ridge National Laboratory, was responsible for construction and commissioning of the Advanced Photon Source's electron-positron injector linear accelerator, and has made significant contributions to MIT's research in elementary particle physics and detector development. Her previous accolades include: the University of Chicago's Distinguished Performance Award, the Eckerd College William H. Kadel Alumni Medal for Outstanding Career Achievement and an honorary Doctorate of Science from Eckerd College.

Public Events

Join us for stimulating lectures, films, plays, presentations and varsity sports during the fall, winter and spring.

Real-Time News