Quick Contact

Eckerd College
Office of Marketing and Communications
4200 54th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33711

toll-free: 800-456-9009
fax: 727-864-8423

Send a message

Visit us on Facebook Visit us on Flickr Visit us on LinkedIn Visit us on YouTube Follow us on Twitter

News Center

News & Events

News & Events

Sarah Sieloff is Eckerd College's First Truman Scholar

posted on 03/30/2005

Junior Sarah Sieloff has been selected as a 2005 Truman Scholar, the first ever in the history of Eckerd College. Established by Congress in 1975 as the federal memorial to the nation's thirty-third president, the Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation selects students on the basis of leadership potential, intellectual ability, and likelihood of 'making a difference.'

Dean Jim Annarelli, Dean Lloyd Chapin, President Don Eastman and Sarah Sieloff
Dean of Students Jim Annarelli, Dean of Faculty Lloyd Chapin, and President of Eckerd College Donald R. Eastman deliver the good news to Sarah Sieloff '06, Eckerd's first Truman Scholar.

"The Eckerd College community is tremendously proud of Sarah. She is an excellent student taking full advantage of every opportunity Eckerd affords her," says Eckerd College President Donald R. Eastman. "I am confident that she will make the most of this wonderful opportunity on her way to making our world a better place."

Sarah Sieloff is double majoring in international relations and biology, with double minors in Spanish and math. She came to Eckerd from Snohomish, Washington, where she graduated as valedictorian of her high school class. Says Sarah, "Winning a Truman Scholarship is an unbelievably exciting opportunity; it will give me the experiences, as well as the human and financial resources that I need to continue to develop and pursue my plans for my post-graduate education and my future career in public service."

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation awards $30,000 merit-based scholarships to college students who wish to attend graduate school in preparation for careers in government or elsewhere in public service. Sarah will receive leadership training, graduate school counseling, preferential admission and merit-based aid to some premier graduate institutions, and internship opportunities with federal agencies.

Following graduation from Eckerd in May 2006, Sarah plans to return to Nicaragua, where she studied Spanish in January 2004, to work to improve public health in that region. Following her return to the U.S., Sarah plans to enroll at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Maryland, where she will pursue a Master of Public Health Degree and eventually a Ph.D. in international public health.

The 2005 Truman Scholars will assemble May 15 for a week-long leadership development program at William Jewell College in Liberty, Missouri, and receive their awards in a special ceremony at the Truman Library in Independence, Missouri, on May 22, 2005. This summer, Sarah and the other scholars will undertake a nine-week internship with the US Agency for International Development (USAID).

Sarah expresses her profound gratitude...

The education I have received and the experiences I have had at Eckerd College are a major factor in this exciting development. I owe a huge debt of gratitude to the faculty and administration at Eckerd, all of whom helped me prepare for and guided me through the Truman Scholarship selection process.

A special thanks to Dr. Barnet Hartston and Dr. Greg Moore, who served as my scholarship advisers; Dr. Bill Felice, Dr. Diana Fuguitt, former Dean of Admissions Dick Hallin, Dr. Linda Lucas, Professor Donna Oglesby and her husband Bill, and Dr. Robert Wigton; students Jake Brock, Florence Emily Castillo, Ashley Fowler, and Ronald Porter; and my parents, Bruce and Pat Sieloff. All were instrumental in the process, and I am deeply thankful for all of their help and support throughout the past nine months.

Public Events

Join us for stimulating lectures, films, plays, presentations and varsity sports during the fall, winter and spring.

Real-Time News