Quick Contact

Eckerd College
Office of Marketing and Communications
4200 54th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33711

toll-free: 800-456-9009
fax: 727-864-8423

Send a message

Visit us on Facebook Visit us on Flickr Visit us on LinkedIn Visit us on YouTube Follow us on Twitter

News Center

News & Events

News & Events

Eckerd College Tops 2009 List of NOAA Hollings Scholars with Six Recipients

posted on 05/08/2009

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) recently announced that six Eckerd College students were selected as 2009 Hollings Scholars. With six recipients, Eckerd students won more Hollings scholarships than any other school in the nation. Eckerd College's 2009 Hollings Scholars are:

Hilary Browning '11, Biology major, of Salem, Oregon
Becca Derex '11, Marine Science major, of Morton Grove, Illinois
Ashley Hibbard '11, Marine Science major, of Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Jeremy Keller '11, Marine Science major, of Des Moines, Iowa
Lillian McCormick '11, Marine Science major, of Foster, Rhodes Island
Paul Robbins '11, Marine Science and Computer Science double major, of St. Peters, Missouri

Eckerd's recipients are among 122 Hollings Scholars selected from 87 colleges and universities across the country. Coming in a close second was Penn State with 5 recipients, and sharing third place were the University of Rhode Island, Valparaiso University, the University of Southern Alabama, the University of Miami, the University of Missouri, the University of Oklahoma, and the University of Wisconsin, with 3 each.

Eckerd College continues to expand its lead as the top winner of Hollings Scholarships since the NOAA program was introduced five years ago. Most notably, Eckerd is a private, liberal arts college in a sea of public research universities.

Hollings Scholarships at the Top Five Schools
1. Eckerd College (27)
2. Penn State University (18)
3. University of Oklahoma (18)
4. Cornell University (17)
5. University of Alabama (15)

About the Hollings Scholarship
The undergraduate scholarships, awarded in honor of Senator Hollings (South Carolina-D) who championed the creation of the NOAA and was among the most vocal of ocean advocates during his 36 years in Congress, are awarded annually to accredited college or university students interested in oceanic and atmospheric science, research, technology and education. The purpose of the Hollings Scholarship Program is to increase public understanding and recruit and prepare students for public service careers or careers as teachers and educators in oceanic and atmospheric science.

Recipients are eligible for up to $8,000 of academic assistance per year for full-time study during the junior and senior years; a 10-week, paid internship during the summer of 2010, including a housing subsidy; round-trip travel to the internship site; and travel expenses to the Hollings program conference in Silver Spring, Maryland.

Click on the following links to view Eckerd's previous Hollings Scholars:
2008 Holling Scholars
2007 Holling Scholars
2006 Holling Scholars
2005 Holling Scholars

Congratulations to this year's recipients!

Public Events

Join us for stimulating lectures, films, plays, presentations and varsity sports during the fall, winter and spring.

Real-Time News