Quick Contact

Eckerd College
Office of Marketing and Communications
4200 54th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33711

toll-free: 800-456-9009
fax: 727-864-8423

Send a message

Visit us on Facebook Visit us on Flickr Visit us on LinkedIn Visit us on YouTube Follow us on Twitter

News Center

News & Events

News & Events

Eckerd College Tops 2011 List of NOAA Hollings Scholars with Six Recipients

posted on 04/25/2011

2011 NOAA Masthead

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) recently announced that six Eckerd College students were selected as 2011 Hollings Scholars. With six recipients, Eckerd students won more Hollings scholarships than any other school in the nation, edging its total number of winners over a seven-year period to 39.

Eckerd College's 2011 Hollings Scholars are all sophomores majoring in Marine Science:
Ben Belgrad '13 of Boardman, Ohio
Amy Esser '13 of The Woodlands, Texas
Kevin Mack '13 of Spring Lake, New Jersey
John Morrissey '13 of Bourne, Massachusetts
Anjali Pati '13 of Orlando, Florida
Amanda Sosnowski '13 of Foxboro, Massachusetts

Eckerd's 2011 recipients are among 105 Hollings Scholars selected from 68 colleges and universities across the country. Coming in a close second was University of Miami and University of South Carolina with five recipients, and sharing third place were MIT, North Carolina State University, Northwestern University, Penn State University, and Texas A&M, with three each.

Eckerd College continues to expand its lead as the top winner of Hollings Scholarships since the NOAA program was introduced in 2005. Most notably, Eckerd is a private, liberal arts college in a sea of public research universities.

Hollings Scholarships at the Top Six Schools
1. Eckerd College (39)
2 & 3. Penn State University and University of Oklahoma (tied at 25)
4. University of Miami (24)
5 & 6. Cornell University and University of Alabama (tied at 21)

About the Hollings Scholarship
The undergraduate scholarships, awarded in honor of Senator Hollings (South Carolina-D) who championed the creation of the NOAA and was among the most vocal of ocean advocates during his 36 years in Congress, are awarded annually to accredited college or university students interested in oceanic and atmospheric science, research, technology and education. The purpose of the Hollings Scholarship Program is to increase public understanding and recruit and prepare students for public service careers or careers as teachers and educators in oceanic and atmospheric science.

Recipients are eligible for up to $8,000 of academic assistance per year for full-time study during the junior and senior years; a 10-week, paid internship during the summer of 2011, including a housing subsidy; round-trip travel to the internship site; and travel expenses to the Hollings program conference in Silver Spring, Maryland.

Click on the following links to view Eckerd's previous Hollings Scholars:
2010 Holling Scholars
2009 Holling Scholars
2008 Holling Scholars
2007 Holling Scholars
2006 Holling Scholars
2005 Holling Scholars

Congratulations to this year's recipients!

Public Events

Join us for stimulating lectures, films, plays, presentations and varsity sports during the fall, winter and spring.

Real-Time News