Quick Contact

Eckerd College
Office of Marketing and Communications
4200 54th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33711

toll-free: 800-456-9009
fax: 727-864-8423

Send a message

Visit us on Facebook Visit us on Flickr Visit us on LinkedIn Visit us on YouTube Follow us on Twitter

News Center

News & Events

News & Events

Eckerd Triton Joey Cuda '12 Receives ABCA/Rawlings All-South Region Honors, Gold Glove Team Recognition

posted on 05/24/2012

Joey Cuda '12

By Ben Schlesselman, Sports Information Director

Originally posted on Eckerd College Athletics website

Eckerd College standout pitcher Joey Cuda '12 collected additional postseason recognition after being named to the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA)/Rawlings All-South Region Second Team.

Cuda was also lauded for his work in the field and he was the lone pitcher chosen to the All-Gold Glove Team.

A total of 33 student-athletes were chosen to the South Region First and Second teams as voted upon by head coaches in the region. First-team ballot members are automatically eligible for Division II All-American consideration.

In addition to the recent regional ABCA/Rawlings accolades, Cuda was previously named to the All-Sunshine State Conference Second Team, Daktronics All-South Region Second Team and remains in the running for the Tino Martinez Player of the Year Award.

Cuda spun together a 6-4 record on the mound to go with 114 strikeouts (the school's second-best single season total) and a 2.92 ERA. He also shut the door for a pair of saves and went the distance for three shutouts all while allowing just 14 walks in over 86 innings pitched.

Cuda fanned a career-high 14 hitters in stellar starts against the University of Tampa and Rollins College. In the field, he maintained a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage and recorded 14 infield assists with three putouts.

Cuda graduated this spring with a major in management.

2012 ABCA/Rawlings All-South Region Team

First Team
1B - Ryan McChesney (Florida Tech)
2B - Carlos Asuaje (Nova Southeastern)
3B - Mike Snyder (Florida Southern)
SS - Grant DeBruin (Alabama-Huntsville)
INF - Jarius Brown (Stillman)
C - Jon Carnahan (Delta State)
OF - Areo Regoli (Nova Southeastern)
OF - Andrew Jones (Tampa)
OF - Dion Bryant (Stillman)
OF - Michael Vinson (Delta State)
P - Sean Bierman (Tampa)
P - Shawn Kale (Tampa)
P - Shawn Kale (Lynn)
P - Chad Boughner (North Alabama)
RP - James Mannara (Florida Tech)
DH - Anthony Boza (Lynn)

Second Team
1B - David Weber (Benedict)
2B - Michael Schmidt (North Alabama)
3B - Paul Winterbottom (Stillman)
SS - K.C. Clabough (Florida Tech)
INF - Cory Jensen (Florida Southern)
C - Justin Riddle (Alabama-Huntsville)
OF - Zach Gawrych (Tampa)
OF - Brendan Collins (Saint Leo)
OF - Cameron Graves (Valdosta State)
OF - Ty Chancelor (Alabama-Huntsville)
OF - Austin Smith (Lynn)
P - Zachary Westcott (Nova Southeastern)
P - Joey Cuda (Eckerd)
P - Josh Branstetter (Delta State)
P - Colton Mitchell (Delta State)
RP - Bobby Parker (West Florida)
DH - Christian Glisson (Valdosta State)

All-Gold Glove Team
1B - Javi Sujo (Nova Southeastern)
2B - Carlos Asuaje (Nova Southeastern)
3B - Damon Elder (Tampa)
SS - Kyle Radziewski (Lynn)
C - Jon Carnahan (Delta State)
OF - Andrew Jones (Tampa)
OF - J.J. Downum (Florida Southern)
OF - Jordan Chovanec (Delta State)
P - Joey Cuda (Eckerd)

Public Events

Join us for stimulating lectures, films, plays, presentations and varsity sports during the fall, winter and spring.

Real-Time News