Quick Contact

Eckerd College
Office of Marketing and Communications
4200 54th Avenue South
St. Petersburg, FL 33711

toll-free: 800-456-9009
fax: 727-864-8423

Send a message

Visit us on Facebook Visit us on Flickr Visit us on LinkedIn Visit us on YouTube Follow us on Twitter

News Center

News & Events

News & Events

Eckerd College Tops 2012 List of NOAA Hollings Scholars with Seven Recipients

posted on 04/20/2012

2012 NOAA Masthead

The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) recently announced that seven Eckerd College students were selected as 2012 Hollings Scholars, edging its total number of winners over a eight-year period to 46. The 2012 Hollings Scholars are:
Kyle Cosentino of Stevenson, Wash., double majoring in marine science and American Studies
Natasha Flores of Gulfport, Fla., majoring in marine science
Alexandra "Sasha" Giametti of Denver, Colo., majoring in marine science
Chloe Holzinger of Sharon, Mass., majoring in marine science
Zachary Means of St. Petersburg, Fla., majoring in biology
Christine Michael of Wyckoff, N.J., double majoring in marine science and Spanish
Claire Miller of Loveland, Ohio, majoring in marine science

Eckerd's 2012 recipients are among 115 Hollings Scholars selected from 68 colleges and universities across the country. Eckerd was the national leader in scholarships - this time tied with the University of Miami, whose students also received seven awards. Coming in second was the University of Rhode Island with six recipients, and sharing third place were Florida State University, University of Oklahoma and the University of South Carolina with four each.

Eckerd College continues to expand its lead as the top winner of Hollings Scholarships since the NOAA program was introduced in 2005. Most notably, Eckerd is a private, liberal arts college in a sea of public research universities.

Hollings Scholarships at the Top Six Schools
1. Eckerd College (46)
2. University of Miami (31)
3. University of Oklahoma (tied at 29)
4. Penn State University (28)
5. Cornell University (23)
6. University of Alabama (22)

Each recipient will receive an $8000 scholarship for the junior year, an $8,000 scholarship for the senior year, and a 10-week fully paid internship at a NOAA agency in the summer between junior and senior year. The internship provides the Scholars with hands-on, practical educational training experience in NOAA-related science, research, technology, policy, management, and education activities.

The Hollings program has resulted in $736,000 in scholarships for Eckerd students and approximately $150,000 in internship support.

About the Hollings Scholarship
The undergraduate scholarships, awarded in honor of Senator Hollings (South Carolina-D) who championed the creation of the NOAA and was among the most vocal of ocean advocates during his 36 years in Congress, are awarded annually to accredited college or university students interested in oceanic and atmospheric science, research, technology and education. The purpose of the Hollings Scholarship Program is to increase public understanding and recruit and prepare students for public service careers or careers as teachers and educators in oceanic and atmospheric science.

Click on the following links to view Eckerd's previous Hollings Scholars:
2011 Hollings Scholars (6)
2010 Hollings Scholars (6)
2009 Hollings Scholars (6)
2008 Hollings Scholars (4)
2007 Hollings Scholars (8)
2006 Hollings Scholars (5)
2005 Hollings Scholars (4)

Congratulations to the 2012 recipients!

Public Events

Join us for stimulating lectures, films, plays, presentations and varsity sports during the fall, winter and spring.

Real-Time News