The Commencement of the Class of 2020


Commencement Celebration video replay
Sunday, May 17, 2020, 1 p.m. EST
Baccalaureate video replay
Premiered Saturday, May 16, 2020, 4 p.m. EST
Commencement Ceremony
To be announced

Dean Jim Annarelli
Dear Members of the Class of 2020 and Families of Graduates,

In so many respects, the current pandemic crisis has changed our world, our lives, and—for now—how we function as a college community. But in the continuing life of our college, among those things that remain constant is the importance of recognizing and honoring the achievements of our graduating students.

Despite the current challenges, we are committed to celebrating the accomplishments of the Eckerd College Class of 2020 and plan to do so in two major ways. While we have no desire to create a virtual Commencement ceremony, we will mark graduation weekend by offering online on Saturday, May 16, 2020, at 4 p.m., spiritual reflections by representative members of the Class of 2020 and a Baccalaureate address to the graduates by President Donald Eastman. On Sunday, May 17, at 1 p.m., we will celebrate the Class of 2020 through a creative digital presentation highlighted by a montage of brief video clips created by each of the graduates.

The fact remains that Eckerd College is first and foremost a community and, because of this, we are planning, when conditions permit, an on-campus Commencement ceremony. We hope we can build around this ceremony other celebratory events to be enjoyed by our graduates and their families and friends. We want to ensure that this special weekend will not only provide an opportunity for all of us to be together once again on campus, but also be a joyful and moving experience for all as we mark this important milestone in the lives of our graduates. As the date approaches, further details will be posted on this site.

If you have questions about these plans, please email Anne Wetmore, associate dean of students and chair of our Commencement Committee, at We look forward to celebrating with you online in May and in person. In the interim, be well.

Warm regards,

Jim Annarelli
Vice President for Student Life and Dean of Students

The Venue

A Commencement Celebration was broadcast online so we could experience it together. When conditions allow, we will celebrate a formal Commencement ceremony on our beautiful campus.



Saturday, May 16, 2020, 4 p.m.
President Eastman offered his major address to the Class of 2020 during this ecumenical service.

Watch the replay of our baccalaureate on YouTube! Runtime: 23 minutes

Read President Eastman’s farewell address titled, “The Power of Belief.”


Commencement Celebration
Sunday, May 17, 2020, 1 p.m.
Watch the replay of our celebration on YouTube! Runtime: 1 hour 12 minutes
Read along with our Commencement Program.

On-Campus Ceremony
To be announced when conditions allow

Academic Regalia

The caps, gowns, and hoods worn at college and university functions date back to the Middle Ages.

Academic regalia for students will include a black baccalaureate gown, a mortar board with a colored tassel reflective of the student’s home collegium, and a baccalaureate hood.

The hood for the baccalaureate degree is of a size specified by the American Council on Education. It is lined with the chevron of Eckerd College, that is with white and teal satin, and it is trimmed with velvet in the color reflective of the degree conferred. The hood for the Bachelor of Arts degree is trimmed in white velvet, while the hood for the Bachelor of Science degree is trimmed in gold velvet and the hood for the Bachelor of Fine Arts degree is trimmed in brown velvet. It is important to note that the color of the velvet trimming of a hood is determined by the degree conferred instead of by the student’s major.

Student wearing graduation regalia