Skip to main content

The Current wins 9 awards in statewide journalism contest

By Tom Scherberger
Published August 21, 2015
Categories: Academics, Students

The Current, the student newspaper at Eckerd College, won nine awards during the 21st Annual Sunshine State Awards last weekend.

The paper was named the second-best College paper in the state in its division (high frequency), and first-place awards for best news story and best sports story. View the full list of awards, which are sponsored by the Florida Pro chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists.

Assistant Professor of Creative Writing K.C. Wolfe, who advised The Current, said he’s proud of the awards. “While their goal isn’t winning awards, it’s always encouraging when the staff’s hard work gets recognition, especially from a such a distinguished group,” Wolfe said.

This is hardly the first time The Current has been honored for excellence. Last year it was named best student publication and website in Florida and was awarded the 2012 Mark of Excellence Awards for Best College Newspaper and Best College Website for small schools in the Southeast.

The Current publishes bi-weekly during the academic year and is distributed free on campus.

Open in a maximized view