Skip to main content

Fourteen Eckerd Student-Athletes Earn NCAA Division II Academic Achievement Award

By Alizza Punzalan-Randle
Published August 22, 2013
Categories: Academics

Fourteen Eckerd College student-athletes were named as recipients of the 2012-13 NCAA Division II Academic Achievement Award sponsored by the Division II Athletics Directors Association (D2ADA).

A record number of institutions and student-athletes were recognized for the 2012-13 Academic Achievement Awards.  The Pennsylvania State Athletic Association had 759 student-athletes honored, a record-high for the program, followed by the Great Lakes Valley Conference (GLVC) with 653 student-athletes being recognized and the Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (MIAA) with 635 student-athletes being acknowledged with this award.

The Sunshine State Conference, which has topped all Division II conference in academic success rate (ASR) for the last six years, had 456 student-athletes honored, representing all nine institutions.

“The D2ADA would like to thank and congratulate the institutions that took part in honoring the record-number of 6,854 student-athletes with 2012-13 Academic Achievement Awards,” stated D2ADA President Anita Barker, Director of Athletics at Chico State University.  “We continuously strive to recognize and honor deserving Division II student-athletes. This award gives us the platform to showcase these individuals and their efforts in the classroom, as well as on the playing field.”

In order for a student-athlete to receive an Academic Achievement Award, the athletics director of the Division II institution must be a dues paying member of the D2ADA.

Also, the student-athlete must have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale, have attended a minimum of two years (four semesters) of college level work and have been an active member of an intercollegiate team during his/her last academic year.

2012-13 D2ADA Academic Achievement Award Recipients from Eckerd College

Lee Spinelle

Men’s Basketball
Alex Bodney

Women’s Basketball
Amy Buccilla
Kayla Bowlin

Men’s Golf
Greg Reilly

Women’s Golf
Mara Shingleton

Men’s Soccer
Anthony Brenner
Matt Duffy

Nazley Wilson

Men’s Tennis
Connor Ohlsen
Dylan Randazzo

Women’s Tennis
Christine Hammerschmidt
Hanna Segal

Lindsay Biggs